Season 23 announced as the next instalment in The Collection Blu-ray range

The Sixth Doctor comes to Blu-ray for the first time, with the release of The Collection - Season 23 (The Trial of a Time Lord) on Monday 7th October.

Pre-order Doctor Who - Season 23 from Amazon, HMV and Zoom. Coming soon to the US and Australia.

In 1985, Doctor Who was taken off the air for an 18 month hiatus. When it returned, it was with an ambitious fourteen-episode adventure, The Trial of a Time Lord. The epic story saw the Doctor on trial for his life, with the court examining his adventures with companion Peri (Nicola Bryant) and looking to his future escapades with new companion Melanie (Bonnie Langford). This season saw the return of popular villain Sil, along with the Master, the towering robot Drathro and the plant-based Vervoid monsters. With the Inquisitor (Lynda Bellingham) overseeing the proceedings, it was the Valeyard (Michael Jayston) who proved the greatest threat, hiding his own sinister motives for wanting the Doctor’s downfall.

Starring alongside Colin Baker is Nicola Bryant, Bonnie Langford, Michael Jayston and Lynda Bellingham. With guest appearances from Anthony Ainley, Nalbil Shaban, Joan Sims, Christopher Ryan, Michael Craig, Honor Blackman, Tony Selby and Geoffrey Hughes.

With all episodes newly remastered from the best available sources, this Blu-ray box set also contains extensive and exclusive special features which include:

  • Extended edits - of all fourteen episodes
  • Terror of the Vervoids - four-part standalone edition with updated Fx
  • Immersive 5.1 surround sound & isolated scores - on all 14 broadcast episodes
  • Behind the Sofa - new episodes with Colin Baker, Nicola Bryant, Bonnie Langford, Mark Strickson, Frazer Hines and Matthew Waterhouse
  • The Writers’ Room - Eric Saward, Philip Martin, Christopher H Bidmead & Waly K Daly discuss the ‘Lost’ Season 23
  • The Doctor Who Cookbook Revisited - brave cast members tackle their original recipes from the 1980s official cookbook
  • The Doctor’s Table - join Colin Baker and friends for dinner
  • In Conversation - Matthew Sweet chats to companion Bonnie Langford
  • Plus: unseen studio footage, rare archive treats, convention footage, Blu-ray trailer, HD photo galleries, scripts, costume designs & more in the PDF Archive.
  • The six-disc box set also includes hours of extensive special features previously released on DVD.

A specially shot announcement trailer has debuted on the Doctor Who YouTube channel, written by new series contributor Pete McTighe (Kerblam!) and starring Colin Baker and Nicola Bryant.

Doctor Who: The Collection – Season 23 (The Trial of a Time Lord) includes the following stories from 1986:

  • The Mysterious Planet
  • Mindwarp
  • Terror of the Vervoids
  • The Ultimate Foe

Doctor Who: The Collection – Season 23 is available in the UK from the 7th October and you can pre-order it now from Amazon, HMV and Zoom. Coming soon to the US and Australia.

More on Products

more from the whoniverse

More From Read and Watch

from the store

More from the store