Seven stories join the Doctor Who Target book range – including the Thirteenth Doctor

Seven Doctors in seven unforgettable adventures join the Doctor Who Target book range, all publishing on 11th March 2021, each with newly commissioned cover artwork by Anthony Dry.

These latest novelisations, almost all by the original writers of the TV episodes, will help Target fans finally complete their classic-era collection, and take the Target range into its next incarnation.

You can pre-order all these Target novelisations now ahead of their release on 11th March 2021.

For Doctor Who fans, the range of novelisations published by Target Books in the 1970s and 1980s hold a special place. There was a novel published for almost every Doctor Who serial between 1963 and 1989, with a very few (five, actually) notable exceptions. Since 2012, BBC Books has been successfully reissuing these classic paperbacks and expanding the Target range to include all-new novelisations of modern-era Doctor Who episodes.

These seven novelisations include the long-awaited Target editions of Eric Saward’s Resurrection of the Daleks and Revelation of the Daleks; The Pirate Planet by James Goss which is based on the scripts by Douglas Adams; as well as a reissue of Gary Russell’s novelisation of The TV Movie starring Paul McGann. To complete the set are three new-era novelisations: The Crimson Horror by Mark Gatiss, Dalek by Robert Shearman, and The Witchfinders by Joy Wilkinson.

The Witchfinders is the first Thirteenth Doctor adventure to be published on the Target list, and the first to carry the new-look Target-branding, with the current Doctor Who logo, that will appear on all future Target releases.

The Pirate Planet

The Fourth Doctor and Romana arrive at the right place to find the wrong planet.

You can pre-order The Pirate Planet here

Resurrection of the Daleks

The TARDIS is ensnared in a time corridor, catapulting it into derelict docklands on 20th century Earth. The Fifth Doctor and his companions, Tegan and Turlough, stumble on a warehouse harbouring fugitives from the future at the far end of the corridor – and are soon under attack from a Dalek assault force.

You can pre-order Resurrection of the Daleks here

Revelation of the Daleks

The Sixth Doctor and Peri land on the planet Necros to visit Tranquil Repose – a funerary home where the dead are interred and the near-dead placed in suspended animation until such time as their conditions can be cured.

You can pre-order Revelation of the Daleks here

Doctor Who: The TV Movie


The Eighth Doctor confronts the Master in modern-day San Francisco.

You can pre-order Doctor Who: The TV Movie here


The Ninth Doctor and Rose discover an unexpected survivor of The Time War.

You can pre-order Dalek here

The Crimson Horror

The Eleventh Doctor and Clara investigate something ghastly afoot in Victorian Yorkshire.

You can pre-order The Crimson Horror here

The Witchfinders

The Thirteenth Doctor and friends battle an evil presence in 17th century Lincolnshire.

You can pre-order The Witchfinders here

You can pre-order all these Target novelisations now ahead of their release on 11th March 2021.

More on Products

more from the whoniverse

More From Read and Watch

from the store

More from the store